Great team for the Silozi Seed bank

 

I just spoke to Fredrick on May 7,2013 and he has completed the compost pit. He had to purchase manure so hopefully this compost will be enough to last for this year. The 2 metre x 1 metre pit is supposed to fill 8000 small black polythene tubes. He will start filling in the planting tubes with tree seeds this June. He has collected some himself but hopefully The Silozi Seed bank will start functioning soon and the participants will hand in a good variety of tree seeds.

Fredrick, Car & I

Fredrick, Carl & I

I must say that something is guiding me through all of this. So many things have happened and are falling into place it is amazing.

So I am very excited about our team.

We are in the process of setting up the non-profit charitable organization.

It is called S.E.E.D.S. Inc. which stands for Socio-Economic and Environmental Development Solutions.

Officially you need 3 Directors to start a non profit, therefore we have:

President-Joanne Hutchinson, owner Med Management, author.

Secretary-Ellena Andoniou, Ph.D Candidate, Geography, Western University.

Treasurer-Sorcha Kellett, Nutritionist/Dietitian(member I.N.D.I.)

I have met some amazing people and hooked up with old acquaintances that are helping this quest move forward quite nicely.

By chance I met Ellena’s mother who works at the Bank of Montreal near us through Carl’s parents. I was opening a US bank account and told her about my projects re the environment ie. my polar bear book and The Silozi Seed bank and Trees for Elephants.

Also by chance I met Sonny Cho who went to school with Carl and his sister Michelle. Sonny now is a fund raiser for Centennial College and he was looking for a hospitality/trade school in Africa to send students too. He was helping me learn the ins and outs of fund raising and sent me a brochure from western University. Well guess who’s picture was in the brochure? Ellena.

So I went back to the BMO and gave Ellena’s mom my email address for Ellena and the rest is history.

Then I was walking back from the grocery store and ran into Sorcha.

I hired and trained Sorcha how to use Quickbooks at a doctors office I worked at many years ago. We chatted as we walked and had a meeting the next day and now she is on board. Sorcha is a Nutritionist/Dietitian so she will be a great help with these projects.

As you all know I am saving seeds along with 4 friends. I also have the Sobey’s  near me,  Ingo, my next door neighbour who is a chef. My biggst supporter so far has been Frakin Catering . Darryl who owns Frakin Catering has saved so many seeds for me he is proving to me that this can work.http://frakin.com/.

Remember how I said earlier that I am so privileged as this is all falling into place.

Ellena is a Global Health Conference Co-Ordinator for SASA Scientific Committee & Editorial Board. SASA stands for The Society for the Advancement of Science in Africa (SASA) is hosting it’s inaugural conference The Advancement of Science in Africa and seeks to engage the international scientific community in finding paths towards strengthening the scientific and technological capacities of communities, schools, and institutions in Africa.

SASA ( South African Science Association) asked Ellena to come and speak at this years conference on April 25,2013. This was amazing to me as it was a less expensive way to get some seeds to Africa so Ellena kindly mailed from South Africa, over 15,000 seeds to Fredrick on May1,2013.

I sent sweet peppers, pomegranate, sunflower, cherry tomatoe,…

It only cost Ellena $21.00 to send them from South Africa and I have yet to mail them from Toronto so we shall see what it costs when I do.

That should give him a good start at handing out 100 seeds to each person. Therefore he can give 150 families 100 seeds each to start this project.

I will keep you posted as to how it all goes. As of today he has not recieved them yet. The mail system is really slow there as Mongu is 640K from the capital city Lusaka and I had to mail them to The Country Lodge as it had a proper address.

Here is the process for a batch of 43 pepper seeds I received from Ingo, the chef who lives next door. I have determined that it is best to take the seeds off the stem asap and lay them on the parchment paper. They tend to get slymy if you wait too long.

IMG_0511

drying on two sheets of parchment

drying on two sheets of parchment

IMG_0513

ended up over 10,000 seeds when dried

ended up over 10,000 seeds when dried

Thank you for your donation everyone!

2 responses to “Great team for the Silozi Seed bank

  1. Hi. Thanks for organizing a seed bank in your area!

    Since you’re using WordPress for your website, I thought you or your readers might be interested in knowing about the WP-SeedBank plugin. This is a free plugin that turns any self-hosted WordPress blog into a community seed bank. There’s a great article about the WP-SeedBank plugin on PermacultureNews.org. It’d be great if you helped spread news of that software to others who you think may find it useful.

    • Thank you so much for this lead. It looks like an amazing concept. My web site is presently growing and I hope it will bloom by the end of February 2014. I will have a look at the web site you sent me and consider the plug in over the next month. Thanks again and keep up the great work. I am with you all the way!

Leave a Reply

