10,000+ seeds so far

Only after the last tree has been cut down;  Only after the last river has been poisoned;  Only after the last fish has been caught;  Only then will you realize that money cannot be eaten.

– Cree Indian Proverb

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better, it’s not.” – Dr. Seuss

I borrowed these two sayings from another blog I am following called “Oahuhiking” . I don’t think the author will mind as she too wants to clean up the globe. Thanks Oahuhiking.

So for those of you who don’t think I am crazy, you probably will now.

I was up until 2:30am Monday Mar.25/13 counting pepper seeds.

I am sure you know that a pharmacist will use a little paddle and a tray with a pour spout on it to count pills and then pour them into the containers. Well I didn’t have a tray so I used the middle of a magazine, actually a book magazine

( Red Tuque Books) that my book will be in this September, to count my seeds.

I sat in bed and very patiently slid two seeds at a time down the centre of the magazine. I used stick men to mark off each set of 20 and then again when I counted 100 seeds. It took me 1/2 hour to count 1000 seeds.

IMG_0357 IMG_0359 IMG_0360 IMG_0362 IMG_0363So now I know that 1 1/4 oz of seed equals 2500 seeds and only weighs 1/2 oz.

I have 4 oz’s of seed in the jar which equals just over 10,000 seeds.

The majority of this jar of seeds was saved by a friend of mine Sabrina and her boss Darryl who owns Frakin Catering, in Scarborough.

Sebrina works part time in Darryl’s catering business and Darryl has so graciously offered to help save seeds.

Thank you so much Darryl & Sabrina.

The good thing about counting out these seeds is that I was able to weigh them. Can you immagine how many seeds I will be able to fit into a 50lb-32kg suitcase.

Technically, 1/2 oz. of seed =2500 seeds. Therefore 50lbs. of seed = 4,000,000 seeds. That will produce a lot of gardens in Zambia.

I will let everyone know how many seeds I am actually able to fit into a suitcase when the time comes.

So as you can see I used the latest in modern equipment  to determine how many seeds I have so far and this is not even including the seeds from other people that are saving them for me.

Thanks again to everyone who is saving seeds at the moment. It will be interesting to see how many we can save.

Happy Easter! Joanne

Leave a Reply

