Dinner together

While we waited for dinner I gave them some dried apricots to try. They said they were similar to dried mango. I asked if Njamba and Ngebe could sit on either side of me on the little step of a patio outside their chalet. I had brought all of the annual reports that WV sends me each fall. They have a currant picture and Njamba school marks and a few activities he did that year. I brought all of these out and showed him the very first picture I had received of him. He and Ngebe gave a gut renching laugh. I showed him the first picture he had drawn for me of a soccer ball when he was 10 yrs old. He laughed and rubbed his hand over his face out of embarrassment. I showed him every year from 2005 to 2010 and they laughed each time. I know for sure now that he actually did draw those pictures. I also gave him the copy of the questions I had asked in 2007 when I first planned to go. There were pictures of all his friends and he pointed to them and told me there names. I left all of it with him as this would be his only photo album. As we were sitting there after, I said to Njamba” In your first annual report you said you wanted to be a soldier”, he and his sister laughed. “ In your second annual report you said you wanted to be a police man”, he and his sister laughed. “ so what do you want to be now?” he said” A teacher”. My heart swelled!” I clapped and yelled Yeh!”. Njamba shrugged and smiled. I don’t know if that is because I had given him the times table flash cards and told him he could teach all the little kids in his village math.

 

 

 

I gave them an article on how to compost and one on worms that you need to help the process. I also had found during my research an article on a certain flower that was becoming a popular delicacy in Zambia but was hard to find. I thought that if they could grow that crop they could make some extra money. I left the pages with Mwualuka and they could read it later. It was a great time just hanging out, waiting for dinner and talking. Mamma asked if I had any children and I told her my story. I said I didn’t know why I did not have any children of my own. It just happened that way. I turned and put my hand on Njamba’s knee and said, this is my son and he smiled and lifted his shoulder in his shy cute way.

The woman who owned the guest house brought all of the pots full of food to Njamba & Mwualuka’s chalet. We sat on the porch and used the plates I brought from Canada.

We had a beautiful dinner of chicken, soup, rice and a vegetable called rape (I think like Kale but very common there) at around 8:30pm. Njamba was very hungry and they all piled their plates. I was too excited to eat. Mwualuka put the breast bone on Njamba’s plate, and I mean breast bone. The chickens in Zambia free feed what ever they can find. There was very little meat on the bone. Njamba licked it clean.

We then went to bed around 9:30p.m looking forward to our visit to the Liuwa Plain National Park the next day.

Leave a Reply

